Recommended material/resources to use along side HanziHero?

Ref the title: Do you guys have any recommendations on resources to use along side HanziHero?

Disclaimer I just started learning Chinese the last 1-2 months, but any tips for the potential future is also highly appreciated :smile:

Iā€™ve been thinking about trying out some anki decks like Spoonfedchinese and some others ones that gives you sentences with just some new stuff for each card. (When I learned Spanish and a tiny bit of German I quickly noticed that anki decks with sentences are much better than just single words in general, with respect to learning potential due to context and motivation.)
Do you have any specific anki recommendations?

Iā€™ve also been using the hellochinese app a little - I just hit the hsk1 mark the other day, but the gamification apps can be a little bit hard for me when it comes to motivation.

Recently Iā€™ve been thinking about finding a Chinese grammar book that is kind of equivalent to the Japanese Genki books - as they seem highly recommend.

Soā€¦ Do you guys have any good recommendations? Books, anki decks, apps or otherwise? :smile:

Is there any aspect of Chinese you want to focus on more than others? For example, focusing more on listening over reading. That can help me give better recommendations.

If you are learning traditional characters or focusing on Taiwanese accented material, I think any of these two book series are pretty good:

• Practical Audio-Visual Chinese
  • A Course in Contemporary Chinese

Iā€™m sure the most popular simplified/mainland book series equivalent is equally good. Really, most of these textbooks are quite similar in the end.

If you go through any textbook, I recommend you focus on audio via the method I outline in this post

I havenā€™t gone through any grammar resources. But just the AllSet Grammar Wiki alone should be a good starting point!

1 Like