Kevin's Study Log

Mon Aug 7th

Another day, another 200+ reviews! Every traditional character I’ve ever added I have already gone through the lessons for, adding up to 3.7k total characters so far. However, I have finished nearly 1k of them, and continue to make great progress!

I’ve been studying and immersing in Chinese pretty intense for the past two years, but I’ve been wanting to dial it down so I have more time to work on HanziHero and make videos and blog posts to help others with learning Chinese. So instead of filling every spare minute with immersion, I’ve recently flipped it on its head so that I have scheduled periods of time for reading or watching Chinese media, and letting the rest of my time be dedicated towards something else for once! :laughing:

It’s great having more time to do other things, but it means I need to be more intentional about my immersion time in order to continue to slowly progress and stave off any regression. Hence why I’ve started a study log, to keep me aware of what exactly it is I’m doing for my Chinese! :bulb:

Right now I’m reading through Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (中文版) in the evenings or when I am on the metro here in Taipei. Currently on Chapter 8!

After doing a palace drama and a bunch of Taiwanese dramas, I’m back to watching anime for listening immersion. Currently watching the first season of the ever-popular 咒術迴戰 (Jujutsu Kaisen). I think I watched the English edition of it some time before I moved to Taipei, but I’ve forgotten it. The second season is currently airing, but unfortunately the Mandarin dub won’t be out till around a month after it finishes airing, in my experience. For those that have a Taiwan VPN, it is available here. I’m currently on episode 4.