Is it normal to struggle so much with understanding spoken chinese?

I am going through “My teacher is a martian”, one of the most basic graded readers from the Mandarin Companion series. I have learned all of the 150 characters and words that the book uses (both understanding and producing).

When I read the book, I can understand it really well (apart from some complicated grammar structures).

But when I try to listen to the audio version of the book, oh boy I struggle so much to understand what is going on. I even cut the audio book up and have it repeat each sentence several times before it advances to the next one, and even when slowed down to 40% of the original speed, I still struggle massively, and understand only the sentences that I studied before over and over again.

Is there any specific way to practice listening comprehention? Does it get easier fast? It is extremely dishartening as I have already learned Spanish, Portuguese and French just by learning some most common words and then just immersing watching netflix and listening to audiobooks, and it worked, but it doesnt seem to with chinese. Those most basic graded readers seem too advanced. My idea was to decompose the Mandarin Companion books and listen to them on reapeat but it is tough. Please advise and share your experiences!

2 Likes

Yes. A couple of things:

A) Reading you can do at any pace you want. If you were forced to read at speaking speed, you probably would also struggle. Also the ability to parse speech sounds into meaningful words takes a long time to develop compared to reading different scripts.

B) With romance languages you can more or less cheat with cognates. For Chinese, there are essentially 0 cognates.

C) You probably have more exposure to reading and thus are better at it.

No matter the case, there’s no secret here. You need more practice, like hundreds to thousands of hours.

6 Likes